FINALLY!!

It turns out that I’m pregnant.  FINALLY!  We’ve been trying for a year and a half, so it’s welcome news.

The nurse scared the crap out of me though, I have to say.  She says “Chance of miscarriage is 40%, so don’t get attached and don’t name it.  Also, your thyroid makes it more complicated.”  Great.  Way to really throw cold water on me, 10 seconds after the big congratulations entrance.

I’m trying not to worry.  They’ve upped the dose of my thyroid medication, and told me to eat well, sleep well, and get moderate exercise every day.  Sounds about par for the course!  Except for the sleep thing.  That needs a bit of work.

I’m mostly glad that my exhaustion and lack of “oomph” the last few weeks wasn’t totally weird.  I was all into my new exercise routine and food habits, and then *bam* I’m in bed by 7:30 and not eating much.

Also, any thoughts are welcome.  I’m a thick-skinned potato.

This entry was posted in Planning, Progress, Updates and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to FINALLY!!

  1. Congratulations. I pray all goes well for you!

  2. Jenny says:

    Congratulations times a million!!!! I take a pregnancy test tomorrow morning… I’m going a little insane… PCOS is an asshole. Let’s bring it out back with your thyroid and shoot them.

    • sagelit says:

      Sounds like a plan!! (So, how did it turn out?) Hope all is well.

      • Jenny says:

        Yea, I’m pregnant… But I don’t want to tell people I know for the first trimester… so that means no blogging for me for a few months 😦 Congrats again!

      • sagelit says:

        AAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAA!!!!! Yay for you!! I don’t know anyone personally on my blog, so I can rant away lol. I wish you all the best, come back when you can!

  3. Nicole says:

    So happy for you!! That’s exciting.

    I think the “don’t get attached and don’t name it” is a rotten thing to say (and unprofessional?). I don’t think you should ever avoid getting attached to someone just because it might hurt if you lose that person. I think life begins at conception, so this is your child (a blessing & a miracle) so if you lose the pregnancy for any reason, it won’t make it easier to arbitrarily try to stay “unconnected” now.

    • sagelit says:

      I love the way you think. I mentioned that to my husband and he agreed with you. I read today that at week 6 where I am, the baby already has a tiny heartbeat. It kills me to think that people don’t see this as a tiny human.

      • Nicole says:

        I am saying a prayer for you & that tiny little person right now & I look forward to continuing to see updates on your blog as you go along your pregnancy. I’m single and have never had a baby, but it seems so exciting/amazing/overwhelming! 🙂

Leave a Reply

